PSA Workshops

 


The PSA staff offer a variety of workshops throughout the year to help students with professional school applications, interviews, essay reviews, and more.





If you are applying to Medical or Dental school, you must attend a Medical/Dental Portal Workshop in the fall or early spring semester the year before you plan to apply.  
 
To sign up for a workshop, simply click on the link of the date you want to attend.

Special Events

2019 Events

Click on the link to RSVP for these workshops.

Digital LSAT Presentation
Tuesday, September 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

2019 Law School Caravan (No RSVP required)
Monday, September 30, 11:00am - 2:00pm, MSC 2300

Paying for Law School presentation by AccessLex
Monday, September 30, 2:00pm

Columbia Law presentation
Thursday, October 03, 6:00pm

UC Berkeley Law School presentation
Friday, October 04, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Miami Law School presentation
Friday, October 04, 12:30pm

Harvard Law School Information Sessions
Thursday, October 17, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

2nd Year Informational 

Thursday, October 17, 5:30pm - 6:30pm

2020 Events

Click on the link to register for events.

ECHO Healthcare Symposium
Tuesday, February 25, 10:00am-2:00pm
MSC Bethancourt Ballroom (
Registeration not required)

First Year Informational
Thursday, February 27, 5:30pm-6:30pm

All Health Professions

Essay Review Times

These are held in Koldus 209.  Please bring a hard copy of your essay(s) and your prompt.  No RSVP required.

Monday, April 27, 2:00-4:00pm
Tuesday, April 28, 2:00-4:00pm
Wednesday, May 6, 2:00-4:00pm
Wednesday, May 13, 2:00-4:00pm
Thursday, May 28, 10:00am-12:00pm
Monday, June 8, 2:00-4:00pm
Friday, June 12, 2:00-4:00pm
Tuesday, June 30, 10:00am-12:00pm
Tuesday, July 21, 2:00pm-4:00pm
Tuesday, July 23, 10:00am-12:00pm
Wednesday, July 29, 2:00-4:00pm
Monday, August 17, 2:00pm-4:00pm
Tuesday, September 1, 10:00am-12:00pm
Thursday, September 3, 2:00-4:00pm

Interview Workshops

These workshops prepare students for the interview process for entrance into professional schools.  Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.

June 26, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
July 12, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
July 25, 10:00am - 11:00am
August 08, 10:00am - 11:00am
Thursday, August 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm​
Wednesday, September 04, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Thursday, September 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Tuesday, November 19, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Thursday, December 04, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

JAMP Workshops

JAMP Application Workshops

These workshops are for pre-JAMP students only.  We will go over the JAMP online application and explain the required documentation for the OPSA office. Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.

CANCELLED - Thursday, March 19, 5:30pm - 6:30pm

Law School

Law Application Workshops

Applying to law school can be stressful without thorough planning. This workshop will cover the five basic elements of the application: academic record, LSAT score, letters of recommendation, resume, and personal statement.

The Law School Admission Council website, www.lsac.org, is the primary portal for providing this information and its use will be discussed. Applicants will learn to develop their own timeline and goals for the application process.

These workshops are typically offered in March through October.  Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.


Thursday, September 12. 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Tuesday, October 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Wednesday, November 06, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Thursday, April 16, 4:00 - 5:00pm Virtual

Personal Statement Workshops

The Personal Statement is often the most difficult piece of the application to create. The Internet and "How to Apply to Law School" books are loaded with advice: some good, some bad, some downright harmful!

We will demystify the personal statement process by first describing how a law school might evaluate you application, followed by an in-depth discussion of approaching the topic of your essay, followed by advice on brainstorming, writing and editing.

These workshops are typically offered July through November.  Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.

TBA for 2020

Special Events

Click on the link to RSVP for these workshops.

Digital LSAT Presentation
Tuesday, September 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

2019 Law School Caravan (No RSVP required)
Monday, September 30, 11:00am - 2:00pm, MSC 2300

Paying for Law School presentation by AccessLex
Monday, September 30, 2:00pm

Columbia Law presentation
Thursday, October 03, 6:00pm

UC Berkeley Law School presentation

Friday, October 04, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Miami Law School presentation
Friday, October 04, 12:30pm

Harvard Law School Information Sessions
Thursday, October 17, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Medical and Dental School

Medical and Dental Application Workshops

These workshops prepare students for the step-by-step application process and are typically offered April and May.   Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.

Thursday, April 23, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Friday, April 24, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Wednesday, April 29, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Wednesday, May 6, 10:00am - 11:00am

Portal Workshops

The Portal workshop is only for pre-medical and pre-dental students applying in May or June 2020 for fall 2021 matriculation into medical or dental school.

This workshop will explain how to navigate around the portal and what documents will be required.    Students wishing to receive a HPAC letter from our office are required to attend this workshop, which usually last about an hour.

Click on the link to RSVP.

Wednesday, September 25, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Thursday, October 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Wednesday, October 23, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Tuesday, November 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Friday, November 22, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Thursday, January 09, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Wednesday, January 22, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Thursday, February 6, 5:30pm - 6:30pm

Re-Applicant Portal Workshop

This workshop will prepare assist Aggies to re-apply to medical or dental school in summer 2020, for Fall 2021 matriculation. We will cover everything students can be doing now before the application opens in May 2020.

Specifically we will be discussing the letters of evaluation, the OPSA Portal, creating a personal timeline, and important dates. Additionally, presenting yourself as a better applicant will be emphasized.

Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.

Thursday, Februay 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Nursing School

Nursing Application Workshops

Our application workshops cover the process and best tips for applying to nursing school. Details include using NursingCAS, taking the HESI/TEAS, writing a strong personal statement, and much more.

Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.

Friday, September 27, 12:00pm - 1:00pm TAMU College of Nursing only
Wednesday, November 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Thursday, November 21, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
(presentation by Jennifer Aguilar from UTHSC - SA)
Virtual, Thursday, April 2, 3:00pm - 4:00pm 
 

Occupational Therapy School

OT Application Workshops

These workshops will cover the OT school application process.  Topics covered: Application timeline, GRE, transcripts, letters of recommendation, personal statements, and resumes.  OTCAS opens annually in July.


Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.

Tuesday, April 28, 11:30am - 12:30pm
Tuesday, April 28, 7:00pm - 8:00pm with OTS
Wednesday, April 29, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Pharmacy School

Pharmacy Application Workshops

These workshops cover the entire application process, from preparing for and taking the PCAT, to selecting professors and pharmacists, to preparing your Letters of Recommendation (LOR). You will also learn how to organize your last year's courses at Texas A&M and navigate PharmCAS, the national application service. This workshop is typically presented in March- June.

Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.


CANCELLED - Tuesday, March 24, 6:00pm - 7:00pm with Pre-Pharmacy Society
Virtual, Thursday, April 16, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Virtual, Tuesday, April 28, 10:00am - 11:00am

TAMU Early Assurance Group Advising

These group advising sessions gives students the opportunity to ask questions about the new Rangel COP early assurance program. Dr. Juan Bustamante from TAMHSC Rangel COP, and Brie Garcia (TAMU Pre-Pharmacy Advisor) will be available to answer questions. 

*Your registration (click on the link) lets us know you will be stopping by sometime within the time frame. Come for 5 minutes and stay for as little or as long as your schedule will allow.*

 

Physical Therapy School

PT Application Workshops

These workshops prepare Aggies to apply in 2020 for fall 2021 admission to PT Schools. Topics covered include the application software, letters, transcripts, and essays.

Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.


Virtual, Wednesday, April 15, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Virtual, Thursday, April 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Virtual, Wednesday, April 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Physician Assistant School

PA Application Workshops

These workshops prepare Aggies to apply in 2020 for fall 2021 admission to PA Schools. Topics covered include the application software, letters, transcripts and essays.

Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.


Virtual, Wednesday, April 1, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Virtual, Monday, April 20, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Veterinary Medicine School

Vet Med Application Workshops

These workshops prepare Aggies to apply to Veterinary schools in summer 2020, for fall 2021 matriculation. We will be covering creating a personal timeline, and important dates.

Click on the link to RSVP for one of these workshops.

Virtual, Wednesday, April 15, 1:00 - 2:00pm
Virtual, Monday, April 27, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Share