PSA Workshops

 


The PSA staff offer a variety of workshops throughout the year to help students with professional school applications, interviews, essay reviews, and more.





To sign up for a workshop, simply click on the link of the date you want to attend.

Special Events

2022 Events

Swapla Law School Caravan
Thursday, November 3, 2022, 11 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Bethancourt Ballroom

 

Second Year Informational  
Thursday, November 3, 2022, 5:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.

All Professions Workshops

Gap Years 101

Attendees will learn more about gap years and how to leverage/maximize these to ensure they are the most competitive applicant to their chosen professional school program as possible. 

Registration Links will be available in the Fall:

Wednesday, November 9. 2022,  2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 22, 2022, 3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 8, 2022, 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Professional Communication 101

Participants will learn the basics of professional communication in a variety of forms and will gain specific tools to put into practice to refine their current skills.

Registration links will be posted in the fall.
Thursday, October 13, 2022, 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.

PSA Money Talks

This workshop provides attendees with an extensive overview of costs associated with the application and interview process for professional school. Provides resources and strategies for estimating and budgeting for various application costs from examination to acceptance.

Wednesday, September 14, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Tuesday, October 4, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Thursday, October 27, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Friday, December 2, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

All Healthcare Professions

Essay Review Times

Essay Reviews are held virtually through Zoom.  Instructions on how to register for a review are sent through our listservs a day or two before the review date.  These reviews are offered April - August.

Friday, April 22, 10:00am-12:00pm
Tuesdsay, April 26, 2:00pm-4:00pm

Wednesday, May 4, 2:00pm-4:00pm
Friday, May 13, 10:00am-12:00pm
Tuesday, May 17, 10:00am-12:00pm
Wednesday, May 18, 2:00pm-4:00pm
Tuesday, May 24, 1:00pm-3:00pm

Tuesday, June 21, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thursday, July 14, 1:00pm-3:00pm
Wednesday, July 27, 1:00pm-3:00pm

Tuesday, August 9, 10:00am-12:00pm
Thursday, August 18, 1:00pm-3:00pm
Friday, August 19, 10:00am-12:00pm
Wednesday, August 24, 1:00pm-3:00pm

Interview Workshops

These workshops prepare students for the interview process for entrance into professional schools.  Discussion includes interview tips and advice for virtual and in person interviews, to general interview mistakes and issues, to FAQs.‚Äč

To register for a workshop, please click here and choose a day and time from the drop down menu on Zoom.

Wednesday, July 13, 2022, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Tuesday, July 26, 2022, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Thursday, August 11, 2022, 10:00am - 11:00am
Thursday, September 1, 2022, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 21, 2022, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Tuesday, September 27, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Friday, October 14, 2022, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Tuesday, November 15, 2022, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Personal Statement

Participants will gain strategies and specific on and off campus resources to support them during each phase of the writing process. These workshops periodically throughout the year.

Please click on the link to register for a workshop.
Thursday, April 7, 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday, April 13, 1:00pm-2:00pm
Tuesday, May 3, 11:00am-12:00pm

JAMP

Application Workshops

These workshops are for pre-JAMP students only.  We will go over the JAMP online application and explain the required documentation for the OPSA office. These workshops are typically offered in April and May.

To register for a workshop, click on a link below.
Thursday, April 21, 5:00pm, 209 Koldus
Thursday, May 26, 2:00pm, Virtual

Law

Application Workshops

This workshop will cover the law school application process. Topics covered: application timeline, LSAT, budget for the application process, Credential Assembly Service (CAS), letters of recommendation, transcripts, resume, personal statement, addendums, and more. 

Applicants will learn how to navigate the application portal, develop a timeline, and set personal goals for the application process. 

To register for a workshop, click on a link below
Wednesday, March 9, 2022 5:30pm-6:30pm (with the Pre-Law Society)
Thursday, April 7, 2022 2:00pm-4:00pm (Application and Personal Statement combo)
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 3:00pm-4:00pm
Tuesday, July 12, 2022 12:30pm-1:30pm

Visit tx.ag/psavirtual to login and watch a recording at your convenience.

 

Personal Statement Workshops

This workshop will cover one of the most difficult pieces of the law school application: the personal statement.
 
Things to consider: How might a law school evaluate your statement? Why do you want to attend law school? While being told you were good at arguing from a young age is nice, you need to dig deeper. Tip: Do not share that in your personal statement.

To register for a workshop, click on a link below
Thursday, April 7, 2022 2:00pm-4:00pm (Application and Personal Statement combo)
Wednesday, May 11, 2022 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday, June 9, 2022 4:00pm-5:00pm

Visit tx.ag/psavirtual to login and watch a recording at your convenience.

Medical and Dental

EY24 Applicant Group Advising

EY24 Applicant Group Advising:
Hoping to start medical or dental school in the Fall of 2024? Want to get a jump start on preparing to become a top applicant by June 2023? The Group Advising sessions are designed to help students plan their last year before submitting an application to medical or dental school. Topics will vary based on participant questions, but generally cover ideal MCAT/DAT testing times, evaluation letters, self-evaulation and more!  

Please sign up for a Zoom session or two this summer by clicking here. 

Thursday, July 21, 2022, 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, August 2, 2022, 3:00 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Wednesday, August 17, 2022, 2:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 1, 2022, 2 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Portal Workshops

The Portal workshop is only for pre-medical and pre-dental students applying in the summer 2023 for fall 2024 matriculation into medical or dental school.

This workshop will explain help you develop an application timeline, learn to navigate the OPSA Portal and understand which documents and evaluation letters are required. 

To register for a workshop, please click here and choose a day and time from the drop-down menu on Zoom:
 
Thursday, September 29, 2022, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 5, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Tuesday, October 18, 2022, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Thursday, November 10, 2022, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Thursday, December 15, 2022, 11:30am - 12:30pm

 

Re-Applicant and Former Student Portal Workshop

This workshop will prepare assist Aggies to re-apply to medical or dental school in summer 2023, for fall 2024 matriculation. 

Specifically we will be discussing the letters of evaluation, the OPSA Portal, creating a personal timeline, and important dates. Additionally, presenting yourself as a better applicant will be emphasized.

To register for a workshop, click on the link below.
Dates in December 2022 to February 2023 tbd

 

Portal Q&A Drop-ins

With the OPSA Portal deadlines rapidly approaching, these Q&A drop-ins will support EY 2024 applicants utilizing this resource through addressing inquiries and reduce response time for those requests sent to opsa-portal@tamu.edu.

To Join the drop-ins, click the corresponding link below.
April 2023 dates tbd

Application Workshops

These workshops prepare students for the step-by-step application process with a focus on TMDSAS.

To register for a workshop, click on a link below.

Dates and times for April and May 2023 tbd

 

Nursing

Application Workshops

Our application workshops are virtual and will cover the process and best tips for applying to nursing school. Details include using NursingCAS, taking the HESI/TEAS, writing a strong personal statement, and much more. 

Please click here to register for one of the workshops below.

Tuesday, September 6, 2022, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Friday, September 23, 2022, 10:00am - 11:00am 
Monday, October 17, 2022, 3:00pm - 4:00pm 
Wednesday, November 9, 2022, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Thursday, December 1, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Occupational Therapy

Application Workshops

This workshop will cover the OT school application process.  Topics covered: GRE, application timeline, transcripts, letters of evaluation, shadow hours, community service, personal statements, and resumes.  OTCAS opens annually in July.

Please click on the link to register for a workshop
Tuesday, April 19, 5:30pm - 6:30pm (w/OTS)
Thursday, May 4, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Wednesday, May 26, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Visit tx.ag/psavirtual to login and watch a recording at your convenience.

 

Pharmacy

Application Workshops

This workshop will cover the pharmacy school application process.  Topics covered: application timeline, PCAT, transcripts, letters of evaluation, shadow hours, community service, personal statements, and resumes.  PharmCAS opens annually in July.

Please click on the link to register for a workshop.
Wednesday, April 27, 3:00pm-4:00pm
Wednesday, May 25, 3:00pm-4:00pm

Physical Therapy

Application Workshops

This workshop will cover the PT school application process.  Topics covered: application timeline, GRE, transcripts, letters of evaluation, shadow hours, community service, personal statements, and resumes.  PTCAS opens annually in June.

Please click on the link to register for a workshop.
Wednesday, April 20, 3:00 - 4:00pm
Wednesday, April 27, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Tuesday, May 17, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

 

Physician Assistant

Application Workshops

These workshops prepare Aggies to apply in 2022 for fall 2023 admission to PA Schools. Topics covered include the application software, letters, transcripts and essays.

Please click on the link to register for a workshop.
Thursday, February 17, 6:00pm-7:00pm
Tuesday, March 29, 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday, April 21, 10:00am-11:00am

 

PA Prep

This PA Prep workshop focuses on next steps and making sure you are on track to apply!

Please click on the link to register for a workshop.
Thursday, October 20, 3:00pm
Wednesday, November 30, 10:00am

Veterinary Medicine

Pre-Application Workshop

For pre-vet students interested in beginning preparations to apply to vet schools the summer of 2022 for admission to vet school in the fall of 2023.

Please click on the link to register for a workshop.
 

Tuesday, August 23, 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday, September 7, 2022, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Thursday, September 22, 2022, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Friday, October 28, 2022, 10:30am - 11:30am
Wednesday, November 16, 3:00pm - 4:00pm 

Application Workshops

This workshop will prepare Aggies to apply to veterinary schools in summer 2022, for fall 2023 matriculation. We will cover creating a personal timeline and important dates.

Please click on the link to register for a workshop.
Wednesday, July 13, 2022, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Wednesday, July 20, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Thursday, July 28, 5:30pm - 6:30pm

Share